Simota Catch Can

If you’ve followed along, I’ve had the BSH Stage 2 kit for awhile now.  However, the first generation catch can was, for lack of nice words, pretty damn ugly.  Plastic fittings, small size, ghetto rigged filtration etc., etc.  It worked, but damn that thing was hit with the ugly stick.  Like beat with it.  I’ve also wondered whether the filtration medium was truly getting everything.  The newer generation cans have welded fittings and a mesh screen separation medium now.

This leads to me finding a used Simota catch can on the golfmkv forum.  Only 35 bucks!  These things aren’t too expensive though, I think around 60 new, give or take shipping.  It’s solidly built and has an internal separator but the see through window sucks.  It’s made of crappy plastic that you can’t see through.  I made a bracket to mate it to the BSH bracket and voila!  More awesome catch can.  I had to buy a few brass elbows and get creative with the hose routing, but I think it’ll hold up fine.  Testing begins now.  Once I’m sure the whole setup won’t self destruct itself, I’ll finish up the L-hoses with better hosing.

Here’s a few more pictures:

The old can for comparison:

Leave a Reply

