Eurosport Front Strut Bar

Eurosport MKV Strut Bar

I just couldn’t resist.  I found a blemished piece (barely) being sold for a discount so I bit.  Kudos to the guys at Eurosportacc for helping me out.  Installation wasn’t too difficult, although I wish the instructions would tell you exactly where to line it up.  Just remember the old adage of measure twice and cut once.  And then keep repeating it to yourself while installing it.  It’s not too bad.  Two drill bits, 4 self tapping bolts and a centering punch are all you need.  And a steady hand.

Eurosport MKV Strut Bar - Passenger Side

Impressions

I honestly cannot say there is a big difference in normal driving.   Maybe the MKV chassis is that stiff in the front.  I don’t feel that is the entirely the case though.  You can (barely) feel a difference when you are taking a turn at sportier speeds, but not enough to warrant the installation of one.  I’m not talking about extra legal speeds here,  just at a brisk pace.  The front end feels a little more planted and set, less wallowing if you will.  The stock suspension can lack a bit of precision at times and this just seems to add a little bit.  Or it could just be all in my head.

Eurosport MKV Front Strut Bar - Driverside Mounting Point

Installation

There are a few installation quirks I will tell you about.  Space is a bit tight underneath the battery cover and I might have to unbolt one side to get it completely off.  Figuring out exactly where you should start drilling is also somewhat of a near guess experience, just study the pictures and you’ll be alright.  Also, since you’re drilling into metal, be sure to paint the bare edges with something to keep the rust off.  If there’s anything else that comes to mind, I’ll let you know.

Note that this did not fit with my stock engine cover.  I have removed this since I reverted back to the stock intake.

Do I need one?

So is it worth it?  It is not a must have for most people.  They either won’t feel it or they fall into the camp of the car is stiff already (exactly what was said about the MK3, the MK4 etc. lol).  A car with stiffer springs and shocks or sway bars will feel more of a difference since these parts place more stress on the chassis than the stock setup.  It never hurts to have a stiffer chassis and unless you are a weight queen, the bar’s weight is negligible in the 3200 pound MKV chassis.  You can find it for around $130 shipped so it’s a cheap mod but I’d rather get the rear bar first.

Find it here – Eurosportacc.com

Update: March 4, 2011

I have since removed this because I went back to the stock intake system.  Space is tight with the stock intake and the bar had to come out.  I must say I’ve noticed no decrease in handling precision or anything.  I am going to have to say that this is more of a cosmetic mod than anything.

Update: April 14, 2011

I am working on modifying the bar to allow it to fit with the stock intake.  I figure that instead of taking up space, I might as well use it.  I am slotting the mounting points to allow it to sit a little bit higher.  Check it

Update: April 18, 2011

Welll, it didn’t fit as well as I had hoped, I am abandoning this, for now.

2 thoughts on “Eurosport Front Strut Bar

  1. Pingback: Modifying Eurosport Strut Bar – Stock Intake Fitment « markFive GTI

Leave a Reply

